SM2 calibration

Hi guys. I am new to 3D printing and have gotten SM2 as my first 3D printer.

I have done many calibration, following closely to the instructions given from both the manual and video. Prior to each print, the nozzle will always move itself to the left bottom of the plate dig itself into it while waiting for the plate to heat up, thus melting and creating a small hole at the corner of the plate.

When it is ready to print, the nozzle will drag along the plate, causing a mark on the plate from the corner to the center.

May I know if this is normal, as I do not know how the nozzle suppose to do. I watched other 3D printing videos but never notice the same behavior from the nozzle.

Thanks guys in advance.

1 Like

At first I would check if you mounted the metal grid that supports the heated bed is mounted the right way (or upside down).
Then I’d check if the proximity sensor mounted too high up and if your print surface is warped.

No. The print head should be at the print height which is somewhere around .2mm or .3mm so something is amiss.

Hi, thank you for your response.

I checked everything and all was mounted correctly and properly. Anyway, I unassembled and reassembled the printer, making double sure everything was assembled and tighten properly again.

Prior to the above-mentioned, I did five level testS.

The results:

Print #1) everything was in a mess. Noticed that the filament is quite flatten. Some difficulty in removing the print out from the bed.

Print #2) recalibrate manually. Very slightly better print. However the filament was not properly adhered at points 4, 6, 7, 8. Very difficult and almost impossible to remove the filament at and around point 9. It was as if the filament has gone into the bed.

Print #3) recalibrate in auto mode. Set Z-offset up by 0.05mm. Print was slightly better and easier to remove from the bed this time. However the filament was not adhered to the bed at point 6 and 8.