Recommendations For Successful Prints

Hi all,

I was in the process of writing this up as a reply to another thread when I realized that this would be better as its own here. I have been using 3d printers for a few years now and wanted to share some not so obvious things that definitely help get great prints out of SnapMaker and other printers. Many of these things are stuff I wished someone else had told me about when I got my first printer.

1. Use a different slicer. Do not get me wrong, SnapMaker3D is pretty good when you are just starting, but there are tons of options in other slicers that it just lacks. Those options can make a big difference to your prints. Hopefully SnapMaker3D will catch up to other slicers fairly quickly. I personally am having great luck with the latest Cura (probably because SnapMaker3D is using the Cura Engine behind the scenes). You can find info on configuring Cura here:

https://manual.snapmaker.com/3d_printing/faq/snapmaker-profile-for-cura-and-simplify3d.html

1. Double check your extruder was built properly. Take the sides off and visually inspect that nothing looks out of place or is loose. Nothing against SnapMaker, but defects happen and issues get by quality control. Especially when you are trying to get an initial product offering out the door. My extruder was missing four bolts that hold the extruder together. Amazingly it was still able to print while missing them. That says quite a bit about their design. After replacing them my prints got much better.