Help with print adhesion

I’ve recently begun having some serious 1st layer adhesion issues after having made a handful of successful first prints with “ok” quality with my Snapmaker 2.0 A350. I’ve been 3d printing for a few years, but I’m far from an expert. So I started going through a series of calibration routines, but can’t get past the first step… because of the afore mentioned adhesion issue.
I’m using the black filament that shipped with my Snapmaker.
I’ve set the hot end to 200 degrees and the bed to 60 degrees.
I’ve ran the auto-level routine countless times… But here is something I don’t understand, Snapmakers guide says to run the calibration, use the included card and to lower the head until I feel resistance pulling it out, and it starts to curl when pushing it forward. If I remove the card completely at the point at which the card begins to curl when pushing it forward, I can’t get it back underneath the head again… -surely- this is far too close to the print bed? My previous printer was a Robo3d r1+, and the head calibration basically needed a sheet a paper to barely have any friction at all from the head. Additionally, my previous printer used a glass heated bed, which needed tape or glue to help with the adhesion. I have no idea what material the A350’s bed is, but I can’t seem to find any mention of it needing anything similar? Also Also, why is this calibration being done with the extruder and bed cold?? Won’t thermal expansion mess with these values? I’ve tried preheating the head and bed prior to calibration, but they both keep getting turned off by the auto level routine.
I’ve searched this forum several times, and keep getting brought back to the same overly complicated posts about setting up and manually managing each point in a custom 5x5 or 7x7 grid on the bed. That’s not something I have the mental bandwidth or time to do every time I want to print something.