Beginner Snapmaker for CNC (drill bits, level, work speeds, density, enclosure, centre job)

Please like this thread and it is useful - so others can find it, please like :smiley:

Hi, first a disclaimer - I am a beginner to Snapmaker, and I am relying on other posts and what I specifically had trouble with.

Anybody who contributes to this post (which I will update) will be mentioned at the bottom. Especially sdj544, brdboss and xchrisd (these are the people I can remember who helped me - immensely).

Topics :

1. Enclosure and updating firmware
  2. Using Wifi
  3. Level (is the machine level)
  4. Level the wood
  5. Luban software - a terrible program (alternative)
  6. Drill (carving) bit usage
  7. Centre your job or put it anywhere perfectly
  8. Running boundary (donā€™t damage your machine or drill bits)
  9. Stepdown info

1. Enclosure and updating firmware - congratulations (YAY), i found the enclosure excellent (it was better than i hoped and really good quality).

This seems to be a problem for enclosure for many people (me as well), for me (before i updated) the Snapmaker wouldnā€™t let me print because it said the door was open, lights and fan didnā€™t work. (after update) works perfectly. it was the machine software (took me a while to work out), just update the firmware on the machine via a usb (after update you will be able to do it via the touchscreen) the usb must be fat32, this link below is where to find updates and go to the bottom of the thread and it will tell you how to update the machine.

Now, you will be able to turn the lights on or off and the fan via the touch screen. (also while it is printing)

2. Using Wifi - connect the computer to the Snapmaker via wifi - the top of the top four left buttons, press refresh (assuming the Snapmaker is on and you are on the same wifi) press connect and verify on the touch screen

ā€œsend to device via Wifiā€ - to send the job to the Snapmaker machine.