Dual Extruder and Prusaslicer

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m writing this because I did some experiments with the dual extruder module and Prusaslicer yesterday.
This thread should be more than a journal, than a tutorial, because I’m completely new to prusaslicer and dual extrusion 3d printing.
I’m coming from cura, but I wanted to try something new and got the expression Prusaslicer has cool features for dual extrusion.

Yesterday was my first day with this software, and I must say that, in my opinion, it is less intuitive than cura. But so far I got some results.

Initial calibration was okay. I did it with *.17 and only the chinese signs while calibrating have been hard to understand for me. But there’s google lens…
I’m using PrusaSlicer 2.6.0-alpha3 for my tests.
I’m not using any snapmaker filament for my tests or calibrations.
Disclaimer: I’m not aware if this is the right approach, so please tell me your opinion.
I will not publish my whole prusaslicer configuration, because it’s not ready for release/sharing.

I started creating a completely new printer with prusaslicer, but with this configuration I couldn’t get filament templates to work.
So I used the in prusaslicer included Snapmaker template and modified it for use with dual extruder.
Afterwards I added some gimmicks like the 3d model done by stefix and the plate svg I found in following repository:

My first goal is to be able to print independently with two nozzles, two objects. I’m not interested in combined printing so far. After I achieved that goal, I’ll be able to calibrate e-steps and so on.
Also, my extruders are always loaded, so I needed a start gcode which changes dynamic the preheating and priming procedure.

If I use extruder 1, only prepare extruder 1.
If I use extruder 2, only prepare extruder 2.
If I use them together, prepare them together.

Prusaslicer offers gcode makros, so I used this as solution for my problem.