Adapting the fan duct

Hello,

I am new to 3d printing. Posted a picture of a calibration test in a fb group and was told my problem could be solved by getting part cooling on both sides of the nozzle.

Can I just start measuring and designing a fan duct to redirect part of the airflow to the other side of the nozzle, or are there risks attached to that?

If it works, I’ll be happy to share the stl.

PLA tends to warp on overhangs due to the lack of cooling on one side of my print. i mitigate this with a desk fan but a new fan duct would be really great to cool from both sides. A new fan duct might be difficult to model but that would be much appreciated.

By the way, there is already another fan duct for the J1 on Thingiverse: Snapmaker J1 Modifica a doppia ventola 5015 by Mauro3D_MI - Thingiverse

That one still does not include more sophisticated things like a ring outlet for the air or two outlets at an angle that eliminate the “dead” zone on the opposite side of the hotend, and it is not perfect since the fan placement will let the hotends collide with the side windows, but it is a start and might be a good basis for further ideas.

1 Like

I had no Problems with the windows. no collision and the result is way better, much more cooling.

Thanks a lot! Then I must have measured wrong. Do you have a picture to share?

Im at Work, I started today, finished in 2 days at my customer here. Than I will make a picture of them. The 2 5015 blows very much Air down, the 1 fan duct is straight down and the other from Fan in the back is more on the side, so he blows more on the side down. I have to go down mit the normal cooling speed to 85% for PLA.

Stay Tuned

Thanks! I am looking forward to see them :slight_smile:

It would be cool to see a fan duct that allows cooling from both sides of the part. The cooling is absolutely sufficient but only from one side from what i’ve seen PLA is warping at high speeds because it cant get cooled enough