Part Cooling Fan - Does it have one?

Total noob question - does the Snapmaker extruder module have a part cooling fan integrated?

I noticed there are two openings in the black plastic on the bottom directed towards the nozzle. I took the cover off the side of the extruder and looked at the fan, but for the life of me can’t tell where it moves the air to/from, or if it’s for electronics cooling, part cooling, or both.

Thanks.

Yep, part cooling fan is in place. Can be controlled via standard G-Codes - try it and hold your finger below - you’ll feel the air flow:

M106: Sets Fan on full speed --> Air flow clearly present

M107: Fan off --> Air flow gone

M106 Sxxx: xxx anything between 0-255 - 0 = off, 255 full blow. Try 255 and then 200, you can feel the difference.

1 Like

Thanks, @Hauke.

Anyone have any thoughts on whether adding more cooling is helpful for PLA and PETG?

Reason I’m asking is because my prints are still coming out a little ragged. I’ve calibrated the extruder and run temp and retraction towers. I’ve also experimented with the layer height and speed settings.

I’m new to 3D printing, so maybe what I’m getting is typical, but so many of the prints shown on Thingiverse (the real pics, not the renderings) look SO much better than what I’m getting.

So, do you think more part cooling is a good idea, or is the integrated SM2 fan good enough?

Separately, any other tips?

Thanks.

Cooling is mainly helpful when doing overhangs - you’ll fail without cooling there, unless you use a lot of support structures.

Can you send a few pictures to understand what you mean with “ragged”? I usually print PLA with 100% fan on.

Perhaps this here helps you: https://www.simplify3d.com/support/print-quality-troubleshooting/

@Hauke - Thanks for the link to the troubleshooting guide. That’s a great resource!

I’ll take some pics and get them uploaded tomorrow.