Snapmaker 2 Hot End Fan Not Spinning

I have a problem with my print head refusing to cool the hot end while printing. The fan does nothing. I’ve tried two different replacement fans and the fan itself is not the issue. Print cooling fan works fine and so does everything else. I am inexperienced in testing the board connections, can I get some advice on how to proceed?

I’ve tried gcode commands to heat up to 200 to trigger the fan and observed it while trying to print with the print head sides off, without success.

Hey!
Do you have a Multimeter at home?

I can get one, but I’ve never used one before. If you describe what I should do I can probably get help from a friend to execute it. We’re basically going to check the 2 pin connection on the board, right?

I would check the contacts of the cable after you unpluged it from the board. I noticed on my printhead that one cable was unplugged of the connector. Maybe you got the same issue…

Anyway, with a multimeter you could check if there is an electric circuit / flow.
I think you have some issues with the contacts.

If you need, I can send you some photos.

I currently have the entire hot end disassembled so there are just a bunch of lovely parts dangling from where the board is hanging above the print bed, so I can see what is and is not connected and check connections pretty easily. I can double check deeper inside the plastic connector to see if the tines are touching, if that’s what you’re suggesting. I’ll have an update tomorrow or Friday once I borrow the multimeter.

1 Like

Yes, please check the contacts inside the plastic connector. With the multimeter is pretty easy to find out if there is a electric circuit or not.