Pause in g-code and imbedding mesh in print

So I’m making a filtering funnel (PLA) and want to imbed a nylon mesh into the print. The mesh itself is about 0.34 mm in thickness. I was considering making the layer levels 0.35 mm, then putting a pause in the g-code at the correct level. When it pauses, I would quickly lay in the mesh, then allow it to continue.

I’ve got no experience with this sort of procedure, and have a couple of questions.

1. Does the touchscreen put up a button to show that it’s been paused and allow you to continue the print?

2. Would I have to “anchor” it in place somehow?

3. Anyone have any experience in doing something like this?

I’ve looked online and all the tutorials that I could find were about embedding nuts, bolts, magnets and things like that in the print, but no mesh.

Thanks

Yes, if you use M600 and are on a sufficiently recent firmware.

For the specific design you’re talking about I think it’d be easier to make a 2 part funnel that clamps together with screws that holds the mesh in place

There’s many different types of features that could be used to ensure water tight assembly, like an oring groove, a positive and negative mating groove, gasket maker…

If you must embed, I can’t think of a way to keep it from shifting. Maybe using a heat gun to melt the plastic slightly and pushing the mesh into it. Maybe extending the mesh out the sides, folding it over, and taping it down?

.35mm is pushing the maximum height for that nozzle. Maximum layer height is recommended at no more than 80% of the nozzle diameter.

You have three interrelated things to get right:
(1) The plastic must flood the interior of the mesh to bond its fibers to the printed body.
(2) The plastic in the mesh must bond to the lower part of the printed body.
(3) The plastic in the mesh must bond to the upper part of the printed body.