Masking out sections of a job

Hello,

I’m just beginning my exploration of Luban, and haven’t been able to find any documentation on this subject, so would appreciate any guidance that you might offer.

I’m laser cutting through some 3mm plywood using an SVG, and there is a small section that didn’t cut all the way through. I would like to be able to mask out the section of the job and just re-run that small part rather than the whole job again. It would seem that the “Mask” feature might be intended for just this, however I’ve not figured out how to employ it. I’ve tried creating a shape to mask out the the section that I’m interested in, but when I click on the “Mask” button, it just keeps saying "Please select a vector and an image at the same time.

Any tips?

Thanks for your time!

EDIT: if it’s not clear, I’m trying to re-cut just the one single gear wheel.

Not so familiar with Luban either but you could simply untag the other pieces or make a new process with the big gear and untag the old process.
Then you could generate the gcode with your new process.

Appreciate you taking the time to respond!

I’m not entirely certain what you mean by "untag the other pieces. I realise, however, that my description might be unclear. The “part4.svg” imported image contains the three small gears and one large gear, however I was hoping that there was a way to mask out two of the small gears plus the large one such that I could re-cut just one of the small gears.

If I were to edit the SVG and re-import, then I run the risk of running into problems with Luban not correctly scaling the imported SVG (which happens regularly and is well documented both here in the forums and on github), plus the challenge making sure the alignment is exact and precise would also be a problem.

All of this leads me back to the question: is it possible to mask out part of the project such that it will only recut a small portion of the vector.

Thanks!