Luban Is Garbage...WTH?

Seriously, I write software for a living and Luban is just garbage. When I first got my SM2.0 everything basically worked.

Now after upgrading to the latest version and updating the SM firmware, all hell has broken lose and I have no idea why the developers do what they do.

1. My printer and PC are 150’ apart. Why the hell do I need to “Confirm” a connection? Repeatedly. Seriously guys put a damn option in there to remember my PC. Jeez.

2. It used to be when I would send a model to the printer, I could monitor it’s progress on the screen, even make fine adjustments to temp, Z level, work speed, bed temp…etc. Not now. I just get the splash page with a “Disconnect” button. Can’t do anything else.

Of course when I disconnect, the print stops. Then I have to load a file, start again, oh wait…Luban decides to connect again and blocks me on the screen again.

1. I won’t even go into how jenky the Luban UI is. “Workspace” tab? Why? Seriously why do you need a new tab?

When you generate the GCode, it should be in memory and just freaking print it. Why do I need to send it someplace else?

Someone please tell me there is a better alternative that will connect to the SM2.0 over WiFi and I can ditch this half-baked software.

3 Likes

3D: Cura
Laser: Lightburn
CNC: Fusion 360.

-S

1 Like

@sdj544 has already covered replacement slicers/CAM.

You can hook a Pi or similar running Octoprint up to the USB-mini-B port. That bypasses the handset software and its questionable connection decisions.

You can also dig into the github repositories and try to rearrange the software to your liking, provided you have the time and the skills. Maybe starting with an old firmware and cherry-picking changesets would get you something better-behaved, I don’t know.