Imported SVG not the right size

I’m making a radio and want to CNC the box from MDF or plywood. However, whenever I import the .svg file (made by a YouTube channel called Great Scott) it doesn’t appear as its original size. I’ve opened it with Fusion 360 and Inkscape and it appears at around 160mm wide. However, when I add it to the CNC bit of Luban v3.9 it appears as only around 55mm wide. I tried exporting it to a .dxf file, but that made no difference. I saved it as a plain SVG file and it appeared even smaller at around 20mm wide.

Any suggestions here? I’m not really a designer (I can’t even work out how to create a rectangle in Inkscape without a fill!!!).

It happens the same to me when importing .svg files drawn in Inkscape.

I don’t have any idea of why is happening, but I solve it doing the following: in Inkscape --> file --> document properties you can see the size of your drawing. Then, after adding it in Luban, in the editor menu, I change the size to that one. This works for me at least for the laser cut, so I guess it would also do for the CNC.

I hope it helps.

Thanks. That seems to work. I’ve yet to actually try the cut, but it looks to be the right dimensions in Luban now. I actually upgraded Luban from 2.7.9 which also had the same problem. I might contact support to see if they have any ideas. It seems strange that it still has the problem as I would have thought using SVG for CNC milling would be very common?

You need to ensure it is created & exported using mm for the units.

I had same problem. Inkscape defaults to px for units when you save/export

2 Likes

I imported the original Laser_test_A350.svg to inkscape. Inkscape tells me its 200x200mm. If I imort it to Luban it’s 25,6x25,6mm. My Luban is v 3.11.0.

Might be a bug in Luban.