Camera during laser

So I’m new to this, but after watching tutorials about the camera capture, it gets a little frustrating. I am under the impression due to the tutorials that when you use camera capture you should be able to overlay your design on the object to be engraved/cut and it will work that way. Is this not true? Everytime I try it, the image is in the left top area and even if I move the image, the work takes place way off the base. Am I doing something wrong?

That’s how camera capture works. The background image goes in the upper right corner of the Luban screen. 0,0 on the grid is the work origin and that corresponds with the front left corner of the laser bed. You might be able to move the background image, but then it will no longer represent the position of the workpiece on your laser bed.

Here’s the confusing part: Luban treats 0,0 on the grid as the work origin and puts the camera image in the top right quadrant, but the Snapmaker controller defaults to the work origin being at the center of the bed.

If you use camera capture, you can use the play button on the Luban workspace screen to control the laser and it will run in the position shown. But if you send the by WiFi, over USB, or put it on a USB drive and open it from the touchscreen, then the Snapmaker controller is in charge and it will treat the center of the laser bed as the work origin. If you do this, then you will need to move the laser head to the front left corner of the laser bed to machine coordinates 0,0 and set the work origin there.