Which add ons are available now?

Hi
I’m new to Snapmaker but really impressed with the kit and the people that manufacture it.
I’m so close to purchasing the A350, but I have a question first:

I really need to use the CNC option to mill 4mm sheets of aluminium. I’m sure with the correct milling bits the CNC module would cope fine, but with reference to a video I watched on YouTube by Snapmaker (called “Snapmaker 2.0 livestream”) back on 4th June 2019 the presenters introduced a spindle (Mikita I think) and attachment that allowed them to fit a third party spindle to the A250 or A350 (44minutes 10 seconds in).

2 years later - does anyone know if this spindle attachment (converter) is available in the UK? Being able to fit a stronger spindle fills me with confidence that I would be able to work on cutting aluminium.

Thanks
Mark

In my opinion this is absolutely the wrong machine for what you’re attempting to do with it.

You need to understand machine rigidity is the limiting factor and not the spindle power. You will have huge amounts of chatter and poor surface finish if you attempt that.

It can be done as you saw, but it is pushing the machine to and beyond the maximum forces it can withstand. The linear modules that apply forces have a small internal set of pulleys (held together by a plastic carriage) that will be quickly vibrated out of adjustment, if not broken outright.

@eh9, @sdj544 thoughts?

If you are primarily interested in machining aluminum look into a Shapeoko, an MPCNC, or other similar machines.

1 Like

I agree with @brent113, but the XL-CNC will be able to handle it. It would be dumb if it couldn’t, especially with how big and thick the rails are.

1 Like

If you’re sure, spend your money. I think, though, that if you were really sure you’d not need to be asking here. Personally I think you’ll be very, very disappointed with an A350 for milling aluminum.

100% this.

1 Like