Snapmaker CNC | Aluminium. How to work with them?

I finally waited for my a350) Very satisfied with the 3d print, successful tried milling wood. I want to try milling an aluminum plate, but I have no experience at all. Tell me how to choose bits, how to choose the feed speed and what are the nuances when working with aluminum?

On A350, there are no nuances: Just Donā€™t. Itā€™s a very light duty machine, with a small milling motor that matches its not-very-rigid frame.

My general advice for CNC milling of metal, aluminum included, is that you should know something about manual milling first. You donā€™t need to buy your own machine to do this; taking a class somewhere is adequate. Itā€™s very easy to spend a lot of money on broken tooling, broken fixturing, and broken machines when youā€™re a newcomer to metal cutting and self-teaching.

3 Likes

And the SM2 is a very expensive machine to break testing it out on somthing its really not designed to cut.

Step One: Unplug SM.

Step Two: Push it in to the corner.

Step Three: Use a dedicated CNC thatā€™s made for milling aluminum.

-S

2 Likes

Hahaha yā€™all have no chill. Lmao.

I think with an engraving bit you could have success. Maybe even with an endmill doing miniscule engagement.

@Freimor If you want to learn about desktop CNCing one place to start would be to read through this guide for the Shapeoko: https://shapeokoenthusiasts.gitbook.io/shapeoko-cnc-a-to-z/ It will give you a crash course in milling in general, and can serve as an introduction to many new topics you can research more. Thereā€™s no simple answers here though, thereā€™s a reason CNC operators can earn up to $30/hr or more.

1 Like

Iā€™m willing to push my SM as hard as anyone and try it on any material (and have) but thereā€™s some things it just canā€™t do.
Engraving on aluminum is one thing. Actually milling it is another.
There are different levels of hardness within aluminum, so it is probably possible to mill some varieties on an SM.