Small issues with first prints

Hello community,
i’m completely new in 3d printing.
I got my SM350 a few weeks ago and already did a few prints.
I started with Luban and printed an adapter (made with tinkercad) for the ventilation hose.
After this i made a few experiments, and now i tried to calibrate my printer like described in this useful post by brent113 Snapmaker 2.0 Initial Calibration Settings / Experiences

At the same time i tried the alternative slicers Simplify3d and Cura and configured them like described in brents post.
After that i printed a benchy with simplify3d high quality settings, and then with the same settings in cura.

It seems that the cura print result is much better when it comes to overhangs, but there are some fine impurites that look like snow on only one side of the benchy. Can you help me get rid of these?
Also i made a few measurements that show that there are irregularities on both prints.

I’m uploading the Photos and the sheet with the measurements in following google drive directory.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @Slynold! And welcome!

Honestly, nice job, 3DBenchy has some difficult areas, and it looks good.

The “snow” looks like where the nozzle may have started or stopped on a layer and left a small blob. Between that and some of the stringing, which isn’t too bad, maybe double check your retraction settings.

It does look like the finish on the Cura print is better. I appreciate the side-by-side spreadsheet, that’s awesome. I’m wondering if the Cura print was printed at a higher temp, and that’s why it’s shinier? Maybe it’s just the lighting.

It looks like Cura and S3D had slightly different settings as far as speeds go - I’m thinking you should be able to put some of the info from Cura’s settings into S3D, maybe improve that a bit.

The Cura bridging settings I think are easier to use. Maybe add a fan while the front window bridge prints for some extra cooling, or try dropping the S3D bridge speed and flow.