New Linear Modules (X/Y) not stopping properly

Hey there

This is my first attempt in this forum. I got my new linear modules a few days ago, installed them properly, homed the machine - everything looks great!
However, when the X or Y axis moves towards the cable, the rails don’t stop but move on and make this awful sound…
See the new (Youtube) link below.

I opened a support ticket - however, it’ll take a while because of the holiday season. I really hope someone can help me out here!

Firmware 1.14.3, Snapmaker A350. Linear modules (20mm/08mm) installed correctly (so obviously, only the 20mm rails seem to be broken).

I appreciate your help!

Can you link to the video in a way that doesn’t require the person viewing it to download it first? Downloading unknown files from uncommon websites is an open door for computer virus/worm/trojan infections and hackers. You will likely get more replies if you are able to change how the video is viewed.

Thank you so much for telling me. I uploaded it to youtube, now everyone on this forum should be able to stream it!

1 Like

Did you update to the latest firmware before or after installing the new rails? You may need to force install the firmware again via USB drive. I would start with that, and then with the power off before doing any movements with the machine, manually push all the rails to their limit switches (non-cable end), then power on and see if the machine will home itself.

Yes, I updated when I had them newly installed. I even went back to 1.14.2 via USB.
I’ll try to re-update to 1.14.3 and then switch off. Thanks for your advice!

Hey, i guess your railes are switches.
Double check where the 20/8mm railes are mounted.

Share your M503 output here, there we could see the steps of your stepper motors per axis.
Not sure but i guess it should be a difference between because of the pitch.

I double checked about 10 times: X/Y axis are correctly mounted and yet are still malfunctioning.