First Layer Challenges

Hello Friends! I’m brand new to 3D printing and received my A350 about a week ago. The sample print included with the software printed perfectly. Since then I have tried several different prints, some I designed in Fusion 360 and some I downloaded from the Internet. In all cases (except the sample print) the first layer is extremely rough. I’m using the PLA that came with the kit and using the default print profiles in Luban, either the Fast Print or Normal Quality profiles.

I did notice that the sample came with its own print settings. The settings associated with the sample file have the heated bed starting and remaining at 50C where the default settings for the bed temp starts at 70C for the first layer then is reduced to 50C for the remainder of the print. I haven’t compared any other settings yet.

I know that there are several ways to affect print quality. I’m looking for suggestions on where to start.

Here is a photo that shows what I’m seeing.

Many thanks!

1 Like

How have you been storing your filament?
Looks like it may have gotten moist.
Also, a lot of people have had problems with SM filament and SM even acknowledged that their supplier had given them substandard filament.

-S

it could also be Z offset, looks like you could be printing too close the the bed, but bad filament can produce a very similar look, so it is hard to tell.

So, the filament was opened from its vacuum seal a week ago, and, I live in AZ. The weather has been D R Y. :slight_smile:

Making sure I understand, when you talk about Z offset, that is what is set with the card or sheet of paper, correct? I was thinking about adjusting that as a first try. I have ordered some more (different) filament but it’s not here yet.