Eyewear for 10W laser

These are what I’m going to trust with my only pair of eyes:

OD7+ at 405nM which is overkill, but overkill is good. Relatively high transmission of visible light.

The enclosure is better than nothing, but the fact that it has gaps of any size means that an unlucky bounce can put a fair amount of power into your eye. This is NOT acceptable in any laser lab, or to me.
I’ve been working with high power lasers on and off for over 10 years, and I’ve had no incidents.

There are various eyewear choices on Ebay and Amazon, but this is one place where I need some level of trust in the vendor. If Thorlabs says it’s 7+, it’s SEVEN PLUS. Somehow I don’t get enough comfort out of “Fred’s discount laser safety and adult novelties store” brand. :slight_smile:

The above document is worth a serious read. TLDR version: These are to protect you from ACCIDENTAL exposure. “Eye-protectors are only intended to give protection against accidental radiation; both the limiting values and the ratability tests are based on a maximum period of 5s.”

I didn’t cheap out on the SM350, or any other aspect of this project, and I am not cheaping out on the only real protection between me and that laser.

1 Like

I got my from Laser Safety Industries and I like them very much as well - OD5+ with 50% VLT, quite similar.

OD7 is more than required - bigger is not necessarily better. Once you are below 1mW at the eye you’re fully protected. The minimum OD would be 4.0 for the 10W laser, 3.2 for the 1.6W laser.

You are not wrong, I get different results indicating OD5 is minimum, possibly we are using different beam diameter values? I choose to err on the side of safety.