Custom enclosure: power supply for LEDs, extractor, etc

Hi!

I am very new to CAM. I received my Snapmaker 2.0 A350 in December.

After a couple of weeks of learning and running tests, I decided to build myself a (cheap) custom enclosure. I made the structure out of corrugated plastic sheets and duct tape, inspired by this post. It does the job but I’d like to upgrade it a bit with an extractor fan, LED lights and a camera. I would like to power all of this through the machine itself if possible, for convenience and to avoid having too many cables running out of the enclosure.

After a bit of research I found out that the machine runs at 24V, so I bought 24V LED strips, a 24V fan, a USB-powered IP camera and a 24V to 5V USB buck converter.
I am considering using the “Add-on 3” port on the controller, since it is the one used by the official enclosure. This post and this one make me think that it should be possible using the two big holes at each extremity of the female connector, which seem to be 24V on the left and ground on the right (when looking at it with the slot for the clip on top).

I have some questions:

• I’m assuming I can get the 24V to power my things from the “Add-on 3” port just by turning on the power supply unit. Would that be the case or do I need to tell the controller somehow that something is plugged in and needs power?
  • Long term I’ll probably buy a spare cable that I’ll cut, but short-term I plan on just sticking 2 metal pins on a 3D-printed support (or maybe even just a piece of cork wrapped in electrical tape!). So basically ignoring the 2 small pins of the port. Would there be any problem with that if I just want the power?
  • Is there any way I can fry the controller if I do anything wrong with my wiring?
  • Any other risk to the hardware that I should know about?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide!