A call to all users re: problem reporting

Hi All ( @Rainie @whimsycwd @Noah @Tone )

Doug the newbie here. I have noted than there are users who report a problem and provide no details of the application they were using, the settings, the filament type in the case of 3D printing , what they were doing at the time of the problem. Which results in many helpful users asking questions to get to the nub of the problem.

Can I ask fellow users who report a problem or request some advice to also include everything that they can about what they were doing and using at the time. It would help reduce Forum confusion and chatter and hopefully speed up a resolution to your request.

Keep having fun.

Doug

6 Likes

It will be much more helpful if users can provide detail information, I think it’s ok to ask for that.

I suggest to write a article about “How to ask questions correctly”, so that we can learn how to ask and you don’t need to say it again and again. :smiley:

Keep going~

Noah

2 Likes

@Noah

That is a very good idea. Anything that reduces the workload identifying the problem also leads to a faster resolution and happier users

Have a great week.

Doug

30 years of IT support and development has taught me that users will not give you the information you require. Here’s an example that I am currently dealing with: “the user gets an error when they request a report”. Which user? Which report? What’s the error? What system?

It is urgent for them to get it resolved (it was reported - and I use that word most incorrectly - yesterday) but they never give me even basic information so it isn’t getting worked on until they do.

Maybe I am just cynical :wink:

Harry.

1 Like

Hi @harry

Doug the newbie here, a retired IT guy
 started working in 1971 and I agree with you.

However, I became Doug the Dreaded in my support roles. I would tell people supply the information or go away. If you make the rules known and the information required, people will eventually comply.