Wild idea to help bridging

I don’t believe the snapmaker extruder has a dedicated fan for hot end cooling.
I have had some experience with TEC’s (thermo electric coolers) in my astrophotography hobby.
do you think a battery operated TEC (for proof of concept) to cool the intake air at the extruder may have a significant affect on the bridging capabilities. it might be possible to print an exhaust nozzle or flexible tubing very close to the hot end nozzle and make it a dedicated cooler . would i have complications with it being too cold. Hard to imagine high end printers don’t use something like this . simple temp adjustment might not be too tough. G-code incorporation slicer addons "Wheeeewh"not my bailiwick .

Just a thought.

It does.

It won’t work for the same reason putting a toaster in the freezer doesn’t prevent bread from toasting. It’s a wattage issue.

I also have an astrographastrophotography setup and the cameras are built like a refrigerator so there’s a very small amount of heat that needs to be removed.

The hot end heater cartridge is something like 30W. A TEC in the ballpark of 30W of heat removal is absolutely enormous compared to the space it needs to operate in.

Also, the temperature of the filament coming out is ~200C. Blowing room temperature air (20C) and blowing freezing air (0C) is essentially the same temperature delta. You need more airflow. Doubling the airflow is way way easier than doubling the temperature gradient (you’d need -200C air).

Thats what i wanted to hear . I wasn’t aware of how much cooling was necessary to improve the bridging at least a significant amount, I will check settings in cura. to see if it varies or just runs 100% all the time.

Bridging_Test_50.stl (673.9 KB)

my bridging wasn’t terrible on this test ( at least it made them all) but definitely center thickness variations got worse as the bridges got longer. had some issues on 3dbenchy but i ran it really fast.

Thank you for the input.