Targeting Cross Hairs

HI
I have just recently taken delivery of a 40W Snapmaker Ray and enclosure. All has been assembled and I have started to try engraving.
One issue I have, is when setting the cross hairs at the origin of my workpiece and then run a boundary check everything seems fine (the boundary lies within the workpiece) I then go to engrave and the job is out with the boundary.
I change the boundary to a dot and run the boundary seems to be fine but there is no centre dot to align with the workpiece. It seems to be about 20mm out, both directions.
Is this as it should be, or is there a way of establishing a centre spot that I can align with the centre of the workpiece.
Hope I have explained this well enough
I also have a A350 Snapmaker 2.0 so am not a total novice
Any help would be appreciated

Hi,
are you using Luban or Lightburn as software?
As there is a offset between the crosshair and the laser this could let you run in this trouble - at least if I understand you correctly…

Thanks for the response
I am using Luban, apologies I should have said.
Yeah, that seems to be the issue. Seems to be about 20mm offset in both X & Y directions.
Is there a method of correcting this. It would be useful to be able to project the job centre point onto the actual workpiece

An offset in Y direction would be normal but as far as I know the crosshair pointer has no offset in X direction… So actually I don’t think this is the source of the problem.

I’m using Lightburn but as far as I remember Luban is a bit special when you set the work origin - maybe you have to use some other setting there - have a look at Snapmaker Ray 40W work origin problem .

Otherwise give Lightburn a try (30 day free trial) and see if the problem is the same wheb using this software. The Lightburn settings are downloadable at the Snapmaker Wiki…