Snapmaker x/y/z stages: resolution, accuracy?

Hi all, original SM printer owner here, just used it yesterday to make some nice little parts. I quite love the thing. Near-zero complaints.

So in real life I’m a laser physicist and optomechanical engineer at a small laser/lidar company in Colorado. I’m thinking about adapting an F350 machine, to act as a sort of ‘x/y gantry’ at the heart of a custom optical component alignment setup; i.e., we would remove the 3D printer head and replace it with one or more very custom modules that would have degrees-of-freedom appropriate for holding (vacuum chucks probably, ‘tweezers’, etc.) and manipulating numerous very small optics in the system that are eventually UV- or other adhesive-set into the assembly permanently. My question is whether anyone at SnapMaker, or otherwise, have any specifications and/or data on the Snapmaker x/y/z stages’ spatial resolution and accuracy? I figure they’re surely ‘quite darn good’ or I wouldn’t routinely get such nice prints from my machine, but hopefully someone might have actual numbers I could ponder? Thanks–C. Hale, Lafayette CO

However…

If you need precision you’re going to likely fight against some of the design issues of the carriage internals. In my opinion you should be looking at a machine built around linear rails which will achieve far higher precision.

Those numbers posted by Snapmaker are not wrong, but they are optimistic. Many people have issues achieving that. My machine operates at that, and I’ve only had to rebuild 2 linear modules, replace the bed and carriage, and enable backlash compensation.