Reel Capacity vs Model Volume

Hi there, I’m new to the world of 3D printing and am looking for some guidance on how to stock up on supplies. The reels are sold by weight but that doesn’t indicate how many items could be made from a reel. Is there a volume-reel reference table or some such basic information?

Hi again, I found a lot of information about materials on the site below:

https://www.simplify3d.com/support/materials-guide/properties-table/?highlight=petg

Back to my information gathering :grin:

After Luban slices a model, it will give you an estimate of how much length / weight of filament the print will use. I’m assuming it’s about as accurate as the print time estimate as (which isn’t terribly accurate). It’s in the lower right hand corner of the model window.

The amount of filament and time depends on the print settings more than the size of the model. A 100mm cube with 5% infill and 0.4mm walls will use much less filament than a similarly sized complex model with 1.2mm walls and 25% infill.

I don’t print a lot, so I find my filament goes bad before I finish it. I’m ok throwing away ~100g of filament one a year, so I haven’t bothered to assemble a filament protection box. I do get a lot more prints than I expected when I started.

1 Like

Ah ha! Thanks for the feedback. Some excellent points there. The chart I found (link above) gives the density of the filament, however, your point regarding the print settings gives context.

I’m interested in your reference to the filament ‘going bad’. I assume this is due to U/V, I’ll look for this among my research. Key points for me will be; don’t buy more than needed and I probably will protect the filament rolls between use.

I went back to the website from ‘simplify3d’ and viewed their materials guide… a lot to digest!

https://www.simplify3d.com/support/materials-guide/