PSU Noise Opinion

So I keep coming across posts about the PSU fan noise. Just going to give my 2 cents worth even though I’m probably going to take a lot of heat for it. Please feel free to correct any of the following if I am wrong.

Honestly I have no problem with the fan noise. I think it’s kinda quiet. I’ve been around computers my whole entire life and I’m a computer engineer, with my specialty being processor design and engineering. That being said I know exactly what loud fans are and this isn’t that loud, it’s probably more upper mid range, maybe mines just quieter? Who knows, the PSU hasn’t even gotten close to hot that I’ve noticed. I do have the privilege of having a properly ventilated and setup workshop in my basement.

I personally don’t worry about the fan speed, you should be in the same area as my computer that I built as a flagship benchmark competitive machine, dang thing sounds like a jet engine when idle, that’s on top of some water cooling. Right next to my printer and it easily drowns out the printers PSU fan.

Not saying that it can’t be improved, only that with what I’ve seen from my own printer it’s working fine as currently designed and I think the focus should be more on prioritizing stability, ahem firmware for example (still using 1.9, most stable IMO) and luban, as well as safety design improvements like the far too easily achieved feat of plugging cables in backwards, or even something as simple as releasing longer, more detailed machine assembly, operation and “what NOT to do” videos. Cue satirical views disclaimer.

“The opinion, beliefs or views of this post’s author does not necessarily reflect or represent the opinion, beliefs or views of the official Snapmaker company, it’s staff or members of the community forums.”

Hi,Artezio

I think you’ll notice the sound of the PSU fan when you replace the component?
It’s a hot topic as I just replaced it half an hour ago with a 24v fan I bought from AlieExpless.