Printing quality - lines printed

Hello everyone!

I am new to 3d printing and I spent the past month printing with my A350 and twicking the settings, trying to learn how everything works.

I calibrated the E-steps, changed the K-factor (I hope correctly both of them) and many more, but I’m still getting the issue you can see in the picture.

Lines… Lines on different layers. They seem to be created depending on the amount of things printed in each layer. If the layer is somehow “full”, meaning more things were printed on that layer, the lines are bulging. If from a fuller layer it changes to a layer with fewer things to print, it creates an indentation.

Another example is here:

Do you know what could cause this and what are the settings that I have to focus to?

Thanks in advance for any reply! :slightly_smiling_face:

Potentially using filament with inconsistent diameter? Potentially the filament is a bit wet?

kfactor - did you actually preform tests to decide the kfactor or did you assign a value you read on the forum?

theres a test where it prints out lines and numbers next to it, and then you choose the best one, then choose up and down some the next decimal point over, until you are at a relateively precise number

Hmmm! I will try to dry the filament tomorrow and try to print something similar again to see if this will fix it.

I will update if this was the cause of it.

Thanks for the suggestion!

1 Like

also does your Z axis seem smoothe? if it doesnt move smoothly maybe its smooshing a bit which could be an installation issue or an issue with your linear modules perhaps

try to measure your filament diameter in several places, meters apart, to see if its close or very different

there is some garbage filament out there, including some of the crap that came with the machines.

it could even possibly be a partially clogged nozzle perhaps.

1 Like

I did tests before changing the values, but this issue was both before and after the changes.