Printer restarts after selecting gcode for printing

Ok I’m new to this stuff and I just unpacked and set up the original Snapmaker my wife got me for my birthday. I used the Snapmaker Luban software to load a 3D model I found and generated the gcode. I put the gcode on the supplied flash drive and selected the file from the touchscreen panel to print.

At first it started moving like it was going to work, then shut itself down and turned itself back on. The printer sat there like it was just started with no further motion.

I upgrade the firmware and still no joy.

Any sign of what could be happening here?

Thanks

Dale

i have not heard of this issue before, could be an issue with the usb, have you tried sending the G-code to it via wifi. also before you try to print anything to big or important i recommend calibrating the E steps see the post below for details

Extruder Calibration a must

Thanks Atom,

I have the original Snapmaker 3D printer, so wifi is not an option for me. I did connect it to my PC via USB and was able to send the gcode to the printer using Snapmaker Luban 3.9.0 but alas no joy. It does the same thing as pulling the file from the flash drive: starts to home and then shuts down followed by a restart.

I have an email into support, but have not heard anything yet.

Your reference to the Extruder Calibration being a must, does this work with the Original?

Thanks

Dale

Update: I connected the Snapmaker Original to my PC via USB. Using the console, I entered commands one by one to see where the failure occurs. I entered “M104 S205” which I believe sets the extruder nozzle temp to 205C. I watched the temp rise up passed 205 to 255 before it came back down. The temperature would swing back and forth until it reached around 203 to 219. But the unit did not restart.

I then gave it command “M140 S70” which I believe sets the bed temperature. I watched as it would rise up toward 70C but as soon as the nozzle temp fell the printer did a restart.