New Snapmaker J1, 1 month experience and review (cooler mod and speedbench run)

Hello all, I made this post to share my personal experience with the J1 and some modifications I have made to it throughout the month. Hopefully it will be useful to new owners of the J1 and those who may be interested in modding their J1. (Skip to bottom for TLDR)

Introduction

I am not a complete newbie to 3D printing nor tinkering, but I have never used a CoreXY machine before and only had experience with 1 machine before.
It was a strange secondhand i3 style printer with a really bad direct drive extruder which broke soon after I purchased it, which I then promptly replaced with a Mellow BMG Wind v6 extruder and volcano hotend.

The zip tie was a integral part of the extruder, in fact its both the tension spring and the only thing holding the whole thing together (the screw thread was completely stripped).
It was practically held together with hopes and dreams lol, but hey it worked.

After the upgrade it was a good machine with really sturdy frame and I managed to get some nice prints out of it with TPU PLA and ASA.
With the BMG extruder I was able to do some manual multi-material printing but it soon proved to be too tedious. Which is when I went down the multi extruder rabbit hole.

The J1

I bought my J1 during the Christmas sale last year, I was originally debating between the J1 and XL but the sale sealed the deal for me.
It arrived just a little over a week later on Jan 2 at noon, despite the outside box being quite beaten up the printer was perfectly fine.

I was able to get the printer setup in the same day of arrival, since I have snooped around on the forums while waiting for my J1 to arrive I already have Prusaslicer profiles by Dylan installed so I sliced and printed a benchy via USB right after I setup the printer clocking in at 1h 27min.