My Enclosure exhaust system - fits under garage door

I have my Snapmaker A350 set up in my garage which serves as a workshop and gym. I bit the bullet and got the enclosure primarily for laser projects.

I wanted to make an exhaust for my laser module and enclosure that didn’t require me to cut a 4"+ hole in my wall.

I designed this flattened exhaust that can be attached to standard 4" ventilation ducting and then it can be placed under my garage door. I calculated the area of a 4" circle and made it into a 1 1/2" x 12" rectangle so it would not obstruct airflow appreciably. I’m no engineer and I’d bet it could be made considerably smaller and still not affect airflow much, but it made sense to me to try and match cross sectional area.

In addition, I do realize the Snapmaker enclosure has just a 3" hole, but I sized this for 4" for more universal application as the 4" ducting and fans are standardized.

This made for an exhaust that can be placed under my garage door, with 2x4’s laid flat to both fill the full width of the garage door to seal the width, prevent backflow of exhaust fumes and bugs, etc coming in, and to prevent the garage door from crushing the plastic you just printed! I also made a screen for it so bugs or rodents don’t decide to climb up the duct into my printer enclosure.

For the Snapmaker A350 enclosure I made an adapter to fit standard 4" ventilation ducting to the existing fan output, then I added an inline ventilation fan.

Snapmaker 4 inch vent hole.stl (159.0 KB)

This large model needed the full size bed of the Snapmaker A350 - and honestly was a pain to print (multiple failed prints which was time consuming and wasted lots of filament due to size and some challenged with PETG filament itself – most of the issues were likely a leveling problem over the big build plate, but it worked after several tries).