Dealing with fumes

I am very new to 3d printing/laser engraving but so far it is a ton of fun. But, big but… My only option for location is my living room with no real option to open windows long enough to vent the fumes. In Kansas it is currently 11 degrees so, yea. With that said, I have done some Googling and from what I can tell my only real option is to get a decent air purifier. I am not opposed to this if it really helps with the smell as well as any health issues the laser engraver might cause depending on the material. So, before I purchase an air purifier, I figured I would throw the question out here. Does anyone have any other ideas or am I going down the right path. Thanks and I appreciate any advice.

1 Like

You’ll laugh, but I feed my vacuum cleaner hose into the exhaust vent and when it gets bad, I turn on the fan and the vacuum and filter all the fumes through the dust-packed bag of the Hoover. Noisy, but its functional.

IMG_0864

2 Likes

I’m in Canada (current local outside temperature -19⁰C), and still vent my unit out a window. You do need to take precautions to insulate everything, though, and have the Snapmaker in some kind of enclosure.

I have a semi-permanent window installation assembled from a section of chipboard, some of the packing foam my A150 came in, a cardboard liner, a 3D printed blast gate, and a short section of 3D-printed pseudo-duct that provides a tunnel through the chipboard-foam-cardboard sandwich. If I put my hand up against it, the portion inside the house is warmer than the surface of the window it sits in, so I figure it’s probably okay, although proper insulation foam might provide a better result. As things stand, I doubt it’s much worse than a dryer vent in terms of heat loss.

2 Likes

Here are links to STL for Exhaust Duct Adapter, and to the Filter I ordered on Amazon for it: