Material for CNC

I got my Snapmaker over the holidays and finally got it assembled. I was wondering about testing either the CNC or Laser engraver: what material should I use and where can I get it? I am new to this so, any suggestions? thank Jose

1 Like

Hi @lasvegasjose

Doug the newbie here. I started with paper on the laser, until I burnt holes through it. I then tried some 150gsm card and that was fine. I did this for practice. I have since tried thin sheets of MDF and will try other woods soon.

For practice on the CNC I also used MDF and will try other woods and acrylic sheets in the near future.

Have fun

Doug

Hi @lasvegasjose ,

I haven’t tried the CNC module yet but I have been enjoying the laser module quite a bit. I started with some small, thin squares of wood (almost like balsa) from the local craft store. I have since started burning artwork into inexpensive phone cases with great success. Just yesterday, I picked up some leather samples from the craft shop to see what we can do with that.

Aside from getting the focus right, the trickiest bits are determining the laser power and getting your artwork positioned properly. For the power piece, when using a new material, I have started burning a small 2mm x 2mm dot onto the material starting at 70% just to see what it would do. You can reposition the dot and try again at a higher power if you like. Obviously, multiple pieces of the same material would be ideal. Still working out the centering piece, though. The bounding box button does help but it goes so fast, it’s hard to get a real feel for placement.

Have fun!
Oz

1 Like

Hi Ogundy

Doug the newbie here. Glad that you are having fun like the rest of us.

BTW, you gave me an idea for an improvement on SnapmakerJS.
Possibly Snapmaker can add to the Run Boundary function that it finish above the origin point so you can line up your media. ( over to you @Rainie @Noah )

Have a great week

Doug

Quick update… lasering leather was a success!