Lightburn: Newbie question

I have read some good reviews about Lightburn. My problem is I am a true blue newbie. I have read the instructions written by someone in the Lightburn forums.

I have a Mac, running 11.0 software. I have no idea how to have Lightburn recognize my SM2. I know the article was well written for Windows, but not Mac ( Unless as a newbe I missed something entirely.)
So if someone would be kind and generous to do a step by step guide and maybe a screenshot or two would great for a visual learner.

Also the article talks about connecting the computer to the SM2 by usb. I have no clue on how to do that so that Lightburn recognizes the SM2.

Thanks for anyhelp

I have some Problems with lightburn,too - I use it in Linux. It does not connect to my snapmaker. At the moment I just use it for generating Gcode and pass this code to luban.

Do not run projects directly from lightburn. There is a serial buffer issue, weird things will happen. Instead export the gcode and run from the touchscreen.

Note:
Run boundary will not work
Door detection will ruin the job if the door opens.

Those are both bugs snapmaker is aware of

1 Like

Make sure you have the CH340 drive from here: Snapmaker 2.0 – Downloads - Snapmaker
The com port won’t show up until you have plugged in the Snapmaker

and for the USB what worked for me was a type A to Mini B 2.0 with the type A in my computer and mini B in the snapmaker.

Thanks for the hint.
If you just generate the gcode with Lightburn and control the job via luban, door detection works :slight_smile:

1 Like

I tried that and Luban did not recognize it, even after changing the extension from every to nc. Any suggestions?

To open gcode you need to use this button:

Not the File: Open Dialog

I use Lightburn with Ubuntu 20.04 LTS Linux.
Had a problem with driver and machine not connecting.
Tried several so called solutions. None worked.