Laser cutting plywood

Hi! I really hope someone can help me! I have tried for months to cut through plywood with the 1600 laser but no luck. Well actually I did make it once but it took one hour to cut a 15mm dia circle :joy: I have seen so many of you complete laser cutting after laser cutting and I have tried all your advice but still I have no chance getting through. I am no expert using laser, I usually use it to engrave buttons but I really would like to cut through plywood so I can make other things :slight_smile: pls help me!! :slight_smile: oh and yes, since I still havenā€™t recieved sm2 I use the sm1 and I have tried in snapmakerjs and luban:)

@Nina I can may help you.
I tryed cutting beech and poplar plywood. I did a lot of tests. What kind of worked for me with poplar was at 4mm tickness: 100% 350mm/min, 2x 11x -0,35mm in Z, starting at the exact work piece hight of 4mm.
For beech it was the same but with 3x 11x -0,35mm in Z.
Less pathes with slower speed could work but in my opinion the side surfaces suffer to much if the work speed is to low.

What you also can try with poplar is: 100% 400mm/min, 2x 6x -0,6mm in Z, starting at work piece hight.

From what I see you should buy material that is <= 3mm otherwise it takes forever to laser stuff an the last 1/10mm are not well cutted. If the material is thicker the laser canā€™t focuses all itā€™s power in the deep cuts. I think the first 3-4 cuts can go to a depth of like 2-3mm. After that to less focused energy reaches the last 1mm and it takes several pathes to cut trough this even with the adjusted depth.

At the moment I try to laser a sunglasses holder. I did a lot of tests for that. I will pass as much information on my website as possible. You can find the link in my profile.

2 Likes