I'm new to 3D Printing. Looking for users experienced in

I’m new to 3D Printing. Looking for users experienced in making small precision gears and SketchUp-3D CAD.

I don’t yet have a printer, but plan to get one in a few months. But I need some guidance in a few things before I can start to melt plastic.

1 - Has anyone used Sketchup 3D to create print files that will work on a Snapmaker.

2 - Has anyone made high quality small, about 1 to 1.5 inch diameter bevel gears? I need precision teeth with near zero backlash for a proof of concept model of a device similar to a differential. Very low loads and low RPM.

3 - Is there a nozzle available with a smaller orifice than .4mm, say .2 or .25 mm? I would need something like that for the precision gears I need to make.

Thanks
jgb

Yes, and then I transferred those skills to Fusion360 which I think is far superior. Sketchup works fine though if you’re comfortable with it.

Not in sketchup, there are models on Thingiverse that generate gears in OpenSCAD:
http://forum.openscad.org/adv-PolyGear-a-fresh-new-library-for-spur-and-bevel-gears-td27203.html

Yes, search Amazon or your favorite retailer for MK8 nozzles. They are available in a wide variety of diameters.

1 Like

What does “near zero backlash” mean to you?

The snapmaker’s minimum layer height is 0.05mm, which to me implies that’s its max X/Y resolution as well. If’n you work in imperial, that’s about 2thou. That’s not good enough for Abom, but it’s good enough for the girls I go out with.