Good 3d CAD program

I’m relatively new to the 3d printing world and I was wondering what is a good program for beginners to be able to create my own 3d models? I’d prefer using my tablet as it comes with a pen and is more manageable than a computer. Any suggestions?

It depends on the type of models you are wanting to make. Geometric models, especially for things like functional parts, things that need to be dimensionally accurate, etc. use something like Fusion360, or if you want simple, TinkerCAD.

If you’re wanting organic models, such as statues, pictures, etc. Blender, meshmixer, maybe Zbrush. I don’t have experience with these, however, as I mostly make functional prints.

You didn’t state what your tablet was, all of these should be available on windows, and a few on mac/linux.

3 Likes

I have an android tablet, which I assume isn’t going to work. :slightly_frowning_face: looks like I gotta use the laptop, which is Windows.

I guess I am looking for a little bit of both as I am trying to make terrain models for my campaign in Dungeons and Dragons.

For android, Fusion360 Mobile is available for CAD, and you can have a go at MeshLab or TrueSculpt, both should be free in the play store.

1 Like

Thank you so much for you help! I love this community! :wink:

A somewhat unknown program which I find nice for starting with is actually 3D Builder on Windows. It is very quick to learn, can be used quite intuitively and comes for free with Windows 10. Still, it is only for simple tasks and beginners - as soon as things get complex, you’ll hit limits with that program.

1 Like

i am very happy with Alibre Atom. I come from a pro-Engineer background and find this simplified 3d modeler works well and makes great .stl files for export to Luban.

1 Like

Michael from the YouTube channel Teaching Tech explains the different free cad options and decides that Onshape is the best free option, and from what i can tell it looks pretty good.