Does Laser module drop down after each pass with multi-pass?

This may be a dumb question, but I’m still pretty new to laser cutting and even knees to Snapmaker V2.0, but… I’m trying to laser cut some 1/4” wood and I know that running the laser cutter without multiple passes barely makes a dent. I guess my question is… when you have multi-pass on, does the laser module drop down after each pass so that the laser doesn’t get out of focus with where it’s touching the wood? You know, since on the second pass, the distance between the laser and the wood would be slightly more unless it did move down after each pass? Sorry if that was incoherent, but if anyone know what I’m talking about and has any ideas about if, your input would be very much appreciated.

Thank you, in advance, so much for your time and help,

Peter W.

Under multi-pass you choose the number of passes.
The pass depth is how much it lowers on each pass.
Generally set the pass depth to the thickness divided by the number of passes.
So 2mm thick with 4 passes, pass depth to .5, 10 passes .2mm

BTW, you can remove the lens hood to keep it from running into your material.

However, 1/4" thick is probably not possible with SM laser. 4mm is probably as much as you can hope for and 3mm more likely. Probably need to use cnc.
-S

1 Like