Can someone check my CNC feedrate calculations?

I’m trying to learn about feedrates and I’m mostly lost. the calculators online seem helpful, but I want to make sure I’m using them correctly. I’m using this calculator

for learning purposes I’m sticking to a 1mm depth

I’m using a 2 tooth 1.5mm bit so my tool diameter is about .06in

Snapmaker original spindle speed is suggested at 12000rpm

using this chip rate chart, I’m going to estimate a 1/16" (close enough to .06?) in hardwood (close enough to bamboo?) would need a chiprate of around .0015ipt

This calculator spits out 36 in/min or 914.4 mm/min

That seems fast but I’m new to this. the only other thing I’ve milled so far was plywood with the same 1.5 mm bit at fusion360’s default 100 mm/min. Are any of my numbers off or did I do something stupid? Any reference values to get an idea of what a normal range might be?

Edit: fixed some decimals

Just quickly redoing your numbers:
1.5mm cutter, not .15mm.
.015IPT gives a resultant IPM of 360, not 36, so 9000mm/min.
There’s nowhere near enough spindle power to accomplish this.

0.015ipt is under the 3/8" cutter diameter row, incorrect for a 1/16" cutter.
For a 1/16" cutter I’m going to extrapolate from this chart and combine some other resources to arrive at 2 thou per tooth.
This gives 48IPM, or 1200mm/min.

That is also too high.

These calculator numbers are ‘correct’ in the sense that will result in maximum cutter edge efficiency and leave a nice surface finish. It’s also completely unobtainable on this machine because there are other constraints, like spindle power and machine rigidity. That calculator assumes your machine is capable enough that you don’t need to consider those.

With just a 50W spindle, you won’t be able to achieve that. If you wanted to attempt this you would likely need very shallow depth of cuts, maybe .5mm or less.

@sdj544, do you have any suggested starting feeds and speeds?

1 Like