A250 and the first layer

Hello togehter,

i can’t get my first layer to print clean. I use the 5x5 calibration and print with PLA.

In the pictures can you see the result from the first 3 layers and the finisih model.

When i print it is also the case that the PLA holds at one corner and not at the other. If I change the Z-axis it will also hold at the other corner but the other corner will be thinner.

1 layer

2 layer

3 layer

finish model

Is a glas better then the original plate?

Regards
Michael

1 Like

I’m no expert, but to me that looks like your extrusion might be off, and also your calibration.

1. Did you update to the 1.10 firmware first? That does better with bed auto-leveling.

2. Did you follow the posts elsewhere here about calibrating your extruder steps? (the ‘100mm filament length’ test?)

3. Clean the bed, just a wipe down with isopropyl alcohol and a cotton ball should be all that it needs, make sure it’s degreased (fingerprint oil etc can cause some adhesion ripples). Rub a little harder if you still see much difference in sheen left behind after it evaporates.

4. When you calibrate the starting height and run the bed auto-level map, I prefer to calibrate HOT. I use the ‘control’ page to home the machine first, set the bed to 65C and the extruder to 100-110C (nowhere near hot enough to start melting the PLA and building up any biproducts, but still build in some of the thermal movement). Then I run the 4x4 calibration. On that last point test I really dial it in to the last 0.05mm where I can still ‘pull’ 2 sheets of standard weight printer paper (actually 1 sheet folded over) forward but the paper immediately buckles, no movement at all on the ‘push’ between the nozzle and the surface.