4-axis rotary CNC only preview failure, settings or a bug?

Hi all,

as I am pretty new to Snapmaker Luban, I am not sure if this is just a false setting, a failure in preview or some kind of bug.
Trying to set up a job for 4-axis CNC with a Minion (what else…) the preview shows some parts not beeing carved/cut out. I have tried out different settings and tools (flat-end, V-groove, ball-end), cutting-diameters (0.1 - 3.175 mm), different values for point-angle and so on. It always looks the same regarding the highlighted parts in the picture.
Diameter of workpiece is 37 mm and set in “Job Setup”. i also wonder why “Stepdown” is set to 17.5 mm which I think is enormous deep.

Thanks for pointing me to the right direction.
Tobias

1 Like

@TobiH,
So that the cutter does not come everywhere is normal unfortunately otherwise you would have to have a 5 axis. As seen here in the Picture then it would go. Since the cutter really comes into every angle!
5-Achsen
The 17.5 is not a problem as long as that is also the epoxy round bar provided by Snapmaker, because at the head of the Minion’s goes the cutter to the middle and the feed takes place in Y direction, so he can quietly lower to 17.5mm in the Z-axis!
With other material, I can not tell you whether the data goes like this

Here again in the picture the axes of the Sanpmaker:
Snapmaker und Achsen

means your Minion is slowly milled away from the front beginning material to the rear to the rotary axis receptacles!!!

Thanks a lot for your kind and detailed answer. I fully understand what you are saying, however I don’t understand why it should be like that :slight_smile: So the carving-process starts at the far-end of the Y-axis and moves towards the jaw chuck. The B-axis can fully turn 360° to the left and to the right, correct? So why shouldn’t it be possible to carve deep into some points?