Printing just makes a mess

I just setup my my snapmaker and I’ve been trying to test the print quality and what not. But everytime I print anything I just get a giant mess everywhere… Is there something stupid and simple I might be over looking?

1 Like

Hi @madbeefer

Doug the newbie here. The more information you can provide the more likely someone on the forum will be able to help. Many users have have started prints that did not adhere to the build plate and there are a number of reasons for that. I will make the assumption this is your problem.

So here is my quick tips to hopefully get you going, Ensure you have calibrated the print head to the build plate. Use RAFT as the option under adhesion, Use the Normal Quality print setting. Not knowing what you are printing I cannot advise on the Support option required.

I hope this gets you going. BTW what are you trying to print?

Doug

I tried messing with those settings and it didn’t make a difference… I was trying to do a test print of a tug boat thing I found. I think something is wrong with the print head, it will push out what I am guessing to be a normal amount of material when it starts that kind of goes onto the stand, then when it goes to the bed to print barely anything comes out and what does just gets caught up on the tip for the most part.

1 Like

@madbeefer it sounds like you need to calibrate and lower the print head closer to the bed. From what you describe, it sounds like the filament is not close enough to get “smoothed” onto the bed and just clumping on the print head. Try using thinner paper when calibrating, e.g. receipt from a retail store or gas station. I find that it works better than normal printer paper. Hope that helps.

1 Like

Yup, calibration sounds like the main cause if it’s not sticking to the default base sticker.

Check out this thread that has a lot of printing tips and help: Lifting, Warping, Printer troubleshooting, and My General Comments on 3D printing

1 Like