How to start laser engraving

Hi all,

I need some indications on how to star learning about laser engraving with the SM2.0. I have to say that I have zero knowledge about image processing and I have never used Photoshop, Illustrator, GIMP or any other software of that type. I have just started using Inkscape for drawing paths to be cut with the laser.

I am aware that this could be a huge topic, so I am just asking for some tutorials on how to convert a picture like the one below in something great with the snapmaker.

By the way! I am using Luban 3.9.0 and I cannot see the options for ā€œB&Wā€ or ā€œGreyscaleā€ as I have seen in some tutorial. Is this a feature no more available in the newest Luban versions?

Picture2

Tanks for your help! Any indication would be more than appreciated.

Well, Iā€™m sure thereā€™s more ways to accomplish this than there are people with opinions. Iā€™ll start with mine:

Hereā€™s what I would start with on that image, specifically to burn a grayscale image of that.
Open in GIMP -> Convert to Grayscale
Process image to draw out details:

• Curves
    • Even more useful with color images.
    • The Curves tool will allow you to adjust Whites, Blacks, Midtones, and Contrast, and more all in 1 tool - learn to love it. In color Images, the Curves tool is even better and can be used for color grading and balance.
  • Levels can help in a similar way to curves - similar adjustments, line rather than 2D graph.

Save as PNG -> open in Luban, Grayscale, see how it does. Repeat image processing if unhappy.

If you want to laser cut out the outline, in inkscape you could Trace Bitmap to generate an outline, offset the outline with Path->Offset to make it bigger, then export that 1 path as an SVG and use that in Luban to cut.