Cura asks for printer, not found

Newbie here… I’m trying to download Cura and it is asking to find the printer. All it’s choices are NOT Snapmaker and it will not find it with the IP address… Help ! !

I belive “other” or “custom” is an option on the list… there is no default profile for the SM2 on cura.

I didn’t see “ other” but I’ll look again.
Thank you for the answer…

refer to the snip below

1 Like

In the “Add a printer” menu, click Custom > Custom FFF Printer and supply a name for your printer. (I used “Snapmaker A350”.)

Below are my Cura settings for the Snapmaker.

1 Like
2 Likes

Howdy… This is just outstanding information… I’ve got it almost done but have a question…Did you enter the “Start G-Code” and the “End G-Code” information yourself?? After I put in the printer and printhead setting it autofilled some information in the “Start and End” codes, but it is not like what you have in your example. It seems less detailed… Should I copy and enter what you have or leave it as is?? This is what I have now:

Screen Shot 2020-10-26 at 1.07.44 PM.png

Thank you so much… You have no idea how much you’ve helped this novice printer dude out…
Regards,
Bob

1 Like

I believe that those start and end codes came from Rainie Zou

Note: at the bottom of Raine’s post there is info on importing Cura profiles for the Snapmaker.

I suggest that you go through the start and end code line by line so that you understand what it is doing. I also have a Lulzbot TAZ 5 and have heavily modified that start/end code. (Mostly putting in comments to remind me what the heck the g-code is doing.)

I have opinions of those start and end codes.

At the end, do not G28 X Y. That will drag the nozzle sideways across the model. Do a G28 Z, which will home the toolhead straight up and eliminate any chance of collision.

At the start, reorder the heating codes (like someone else posted), so it will begin heating the bed and extruder at the same time.