Creating G-Code in Luban

I am very new to all of this type of work. I have had some success now two tries. Lasering a Photo of my cat. took about 7 hours. but the detail is not their. I have seen photos of finished product from Luban. and they are 80% better than mine. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I am using the gray scale. and 1500 work speed. and normal quality. 5 dot. but Not very happy with turn out. this is the 1600nw laser, and this is the SM A350. any one have any advise. still working on test. Have cut more Panels to practice on. any Help would be accepted with humble Humility and gratitude. Thanks, Master Crafter.

For the most detail you need to make sure that the density is set to the highest setting: 10 for b&w and grayscale, 20 for vector. Not sure why anyone would ever want to use halftone.
I find it helps to use another program to convert your photo to grayscale before importing to Luban. Gimp is free and has a really good menu option under their ‘colors’ menu ‘desaturate’->‘color to gray’. It has some really nice adjustments to deal with converting the contrast and brightness. You need a good range of contrast for a good laser image. If your cat is all black you’re going to have a tough time no matter what.
If you want to share your photo we can take a look at it and give some more advice.
Lastly, the choice of algorithm makes a big difference. The preview is bad but you can kind of get an idea of how much detail in the whites vs. the black and how contrasty the image will be when you choose the different options. I tend to favor either Atkinson or Floyd-Steinburg but it depends on the image.

-S