Carbon Fiber Dual Extruder Advice

Hello all,

I finally got my dual extruder working with the new door + fan and am ready to move on to something else. I want to use this 25% carbon fiber and 75% nylon filament I have and looking at the defaults in Luban it says to use a fan speed of 0%. Is this correct? Has anyone tried this? I’ve never used carbon fiber before and am looking for advice on print speeds, retraction distances, etc., especially since the dual extruder seems fickle. I would use the single extruder module but I require support structures.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Tim

Nylon and PE need either very hot environment (+80°C bed) and print temps (+250°C), as i know from my filaments.
Recommened speeds are more on the slow side like 40mm/s.

But i printed only a few small functional parts lomg time ago…

I’ve printed with all variants of eSun’s Carbon fibre reinforced nylon with little trouble. I get some stringing but otherwise the suggested settings work fine. I’ve also used 3DXtech carbon reinforced PETG and it works well. As I type I have eSun’s PA12-CF in the printer and I’m impressed with the results.

My most surprising finding is the eSun white PLA+ makes an excellent support material for both nylon and PETG CF filaments. Much cheaper than soluble filaments if your model is simple enough.

I should add that even a hardened steel nozzle doesn’t last that long. I’m using a .6mm Diamond tipped nozzle.

HTH

I have been printing about 2kg of sainsmart epaCF (PA6), which supposedly is the exact same as esun epaCF so far and didnt see any wear on my 0.4 brozzl steel nozzle and no clogs so far. Fan at 0 is not mandatory, but if you turn up the fan, you will get bad layer adhesion.
Same with speed. You can print relatively fast up to 60mm/s, but layer adhesion improves if you go slower. I print most at 30mm/s
Recommend printing on a glass bed with magigoo PA, that stuff is really good.