New to snapmaker

Hi everyone
My name is Bob, I hope everyone in your family are well. I am new to snapmaker. I am looking to buy a machine. I know this is about the snapmaker 2. I am wondering how often there are problem which require repair work on their machines. I want to use this in small shop for manufacturing. I need a reliable product that work day in and day out. I dont have time to do alot of repairs.

1 Like

Hey, nice you look forward for a Snapmaker.

How big are your projects on the machine?

Nice to meet you Bilzer.
My projects are not big. I am a metal spinner and metal caster. I make hollow ware. I would like to use the printer to print out wax pattern for some designs that cannot be shot with tradition moulds and wax injectors. I need high quality prints. Some would say go to a sla printer but my work is to big for that style of printer. I figure I can take a hair dryer to the wax patterns to smooth. I was hoping to use the cnc router to cut things like teapot handles which are expensive to order. If do this I need a machine that works when I turn it on. I will use it at least once a week and likely two or three times a week. I cannot develop a piece for sale and spend my time trying to figure why a machine will not work mechanically. That would be a disaster.

Thanks for your interest Bob

When you say, ā€œnot bigā€ā€¦ how big are you talking, volume-wise? What kind of things are you casting?
You will find, just like with most advanced tools, there is some serious learning up front, and some headaches with figuring out the capabilities of the new machine. There WILL be bad prints. there WILL be lost materials and time, but over time it will decrease. This is true for any 3d printer you purchase. They all have various problems to solve before you can dial in the prints.

There is alot of information here on the forum, and it can really jump-start the learning process for you.
Have you used 3d printers before?