CNC Issues - Uneven depth, broken bit

Hi

I had a Roland Engraver years ago so not a complete Newbie.

2 issues I have is that the CNC function seems to engrave deeper on the left side than the right. Enough that it is cutting into the wooden bed and not cutting through the plastic I am using.

I decided to try using a thing piece of Lexan under the piece I was cutting hoping that I could go deeper and not have to destroy the bed.

During cutting the Bit broke. This was my third run so I hadn’t changed anything except putting the piece under the one I was working with.

My project is basically cutting 63 discs 24.5mm out of 2mm Lexan.

Any help is appreciated:

1.) uneven bed
2.) bit breaking

Thanks

Corry

Same thing happens here. Uneven cut across the plane.

I have read others complaining about uneven bed and suggested Snapmaker add leveling feature to the menu for CNC like they did for 3D (when you attach the 3D head). Their reply was along the way of saying it’s user’s fault i.e. if you had installed everything correctly the bed should be perfectly parallel to the machine’s X&Y-axis rails. They went on to suggest that you re-assemble and check if debris got caught somewhere that in turn upsets the parallel :slight_smile:
With that said, I guess you could tinker with the screws and adjust (by trial-and-error), run a test until you get it to an acceptable result. But that’s just brute force. A software leveling still makes a lot more sense. Fingers crossed, next update.

As for breaking bits, I had no experience with cutting Lexan, but just out of intuition a 2 mm Lexan should be pretty hard, harder that plywood that I’m used to cutting. While cutting the plywood I hear strange noise as if the bit is struggling to cut into. I’m thinking the spindle that comes with SM1 is not that powerful. In your case, I am guessing bit selection might be the key. Another, you could try lowering the feed rate, but that just slows things down.