Finishing wood parts after laser / CNC

Any suggestions on how to finish wood parts after laser / CNC?
Or any links to quality articles / videos on this topic?

Background:
I’m a complete noob when it comes to woodworking.
But I assume some sort of oil application / surface protection is in order.
Particularly for laser engraving I’m curious to know if different oils give better/worse results when it comes to preserving the quality of the engraving.
I’m also unsure how different oils work with different types of wood; I’m mostly working with birch.

PS:
Please excuse if this has been asked before; a quick search didn’t yield any relevant threads.

What kind of projects are you working on? For instance if you are making coasters a more waterproof finish might be important than if you are making something to hang on the wall, etc.

Good point.
I’m mostly working on “display projects”, so no special need for a waterproof finish.
Nonetheless, also curious to know how a waterproof finish can be achieved, in case that will become relevant.

There are a lot of choices.
Some of it is dependent on whether you need it to be food safe.
Is it for outdoor or indoor use.

I like using wipe on polyurethane for stuff I want to be more waterproof. There’s also a product called Emmet’s Good Stuff that’s great for butcher blocks and counter tops.

For oils mineral oil is food safe and protects well enough.(Good for slate too) Linseed oil gives a beautiful finish. Both you just wipe on and wipe off.

Those are just a couple.
-S

2 Likes

Well there are a ton of options, but every woodworker has a few that they go to.