Simple Snapmaker plugin for octoprint

I’m starting a new plugin project for octoprint released under the ISC license. Any who would like to participate are welcome. I have never built an octoprint plugin, so I’m learning about it as I go.

I will be working towards getting at least the functionality of turning the laser on and off, turning the CNC tool on and off, and ultimately running boundaries and setting work origins via the octoprint UI.

Here is my starting code (does not much yet – kind of a “hello world” at this point), which I will be adding to often. If you’d like to contribute, feel free to add wishlist issues to the repo or reply here.

I would try to help but I’ve never done programming with moving parts before.

I’ll try to learn about all the motors and stuff before I mess up the project haha!!!

This is going to be awesome!

FYI, you can add custom controls to the Control tab by editing the config.yaml file. I’ve added “go to x,y origin” (for tool changes), “spindle on”, and “spindle off” buttons.

Right. There is a programmatic way to do this from the plugin, which I intend to do also.

@Rainie / @parachvte.

May I have permission to use the snapmaker svg logo from your website in the plugin? You can PM or email me if you like.

If anyone who has octoprint is interested in beta testing, I have a functional (but NOT WELL TESTED) plugin with the following features:

Upon connection to the snapmaker, it detects the type of module and displays controls in the controls tab if it is a laser or CNC.

• On and Off turn the tool on and off
  • A power slider can set the laser power (only changes when “on” is clicked right now)

See https://ron-linkertech.github.io/octoprint-snapmaker-control/

Ultimately, I’d like to be able to run a boundary for the loaded file, but I’m not there yet.

All comments welcome. I intend to fix the laser slider to send gcode as its being adjusted next, and will push an update when that is done.