Preferences: turn off automatic checking for updated firmware

An option in Preferences to disable automatic checking for updated firmware please.

I don’t want to update my firmware until it’s been reviewed by other users, and in fact want to stay on 1.4.1 until Paxx updates, so every time I turn the U1 on I have to dismiss the firmware check.

The same request might go for Snapmaker Orca as well.

I’ll forward to the engineering team.

I do have one more question. Completely dismissing the firmware update notification might not be the ideal solution for either side(I think the engineers might be concerned that users could forget to update altogether if they dismiss it once). What if we instead set a notification frequency, such as remain me again after xxx days?

I’ll also drop a poll here to see what other users think:

When a new firmware is ready, how would you pefer to be notified
  • Keep notifying me until I update
  • Dismiss once and never remind me again for this version
  • Dismiss once, then remind me again after 7 days
  • Disable automatic checks entirely. I’ll check manually when I want
0 voters

I look at FW updates from a slightly different view - what is it adding/fixing? There are different levels of importance;

Red - Security Flaws, Major Bug fixes

Amber - General minor bug fixes, general improvements

Green - New features/updates to existing ones

I think SM should always push red fixes via the machine, notify say once a month for amber to remind users then finally green should only be sent out via msg/email not on the machine

1 Like

I don’t know. The way I see it, there are two (or more!) user types: consumer-level, who don’t care about the details, and enthusiasts/experts who want/expect complete control over what’s going on. I don’t think the latter want to be nagged, regardless of the severity of the flaw/bug. I should expect Snapmaker to inform us about an update of that category via the usual channels, so we would know about it and make our own decisions on that basis.

My suggestion is to make the “disable nag” switch only available in Advanced Mode, then you know it’s probably not consumer-level.

Personally, I’m running in LAN Mode so I don’t (normally) see the nag – it was only after I did a factory reset and forgot to restore LAN Mode!